Pinterest MPL MPL on Twitter

Library Board of Trustees

Board Members Annual Schedule of Meetings
Agenda & Minutes

The Matteson Area Public Library’s Board of Trustees is the governing body of the library. The Board is composed of seven members elected to a staggered six year term by the general public.

The Board is responsible for establishing policies governing the library programs and usage; Overseeing the budget and financial administration; Revising policies when needed to improve or expand services; Formulating and reviewing long range plans for future development and expansion of services when the needs of the library so indicate; and Actively advocating for library support at both the local and state levels.

The Board appoints the Library Director, who is responsible for the administration of the Library. The Library has a departmental structure, with advisory teams established along general library functions. The heads of the departments report to the Director and supervise the staffs and functions of their departments.

All meetings are open to the public.

Library Board Policy Manual

You may contact the Board of Trustees at


Annual Schedule of Library Board Meetings

Ordinance No. _41964 1718 0003
Board of Trustees Regular Meeting Dates

The annual schedule of meetings is posted
each year after the annual meeting.
Be it resolved that Board meetings are normally scheduled on the Tuesday following the second Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the downstairs Meeting Room, on the following dates:

  • July 10, 2018
  • August 14, 2018
  • September 4, 2018 – Annual Meeting
  • September 11, 2018
  • October 16, 2018
  • November 13, 2018
  • December 11, 2018
  • January 15, 2019
  • February 12, 2019
  • March 12, 2019
  • April 9, 2019
  • May 14, 2019
  • June 11, 2019
  • July 9, 2019

This resolution is effective immediately upon adoption.

Adopted at the Regular Meeting, July 11, 2017.

Posted: July 12, 2017

The Matteson Area Public Library District is subject to the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. Individuals with disabilities who plan to attend this meeting and who require certain accommodations in order to allow them to observe and/or participate in this meeting, or who have questions regarding the accessibility of the meeting or the facilities, are requested to contact the Library Director Kathy Berggren at, (708) 748-4431 to allow the library to make reasonable accommodations for those persons. 

Agenda & Minutes

Official minutes of meetings will be posted after they have been approved by the Library Board at the following Board meeting.

Agenda – April 10, 2018 Meeting

Upcoming Board Meeting: Tuesday, March 13 at 7:00 PM

Library Board Minutes

*Minutes from 2016 and newer are for MAPLD

Minutes from 2018

Minutes from 2017

December 2017 November 2017 October 2017
September 2017 August 2017 July 2017
June 2017 May 2017 April 2017
March 2017 February 2017 January 2017

Minutes from 2016

December 2016 November 2016 October 2016
September 2016 August 2016 July 2016
June 2016 May 2016 April 2016
March 2016 February 2016 January 2016

Search our SWAN Library Catalog here!

Board Members

Dwayne Shipp, President


Harold Gillis, Vice- President


Milfred Moore, Treasurer


Beverly Coleman, Trustee


Temitope Babayode, Trustee


Howard Hunigan, Trustee


Andrea Williams, Trustee