Library Board of Trustees

We were rated 3 stars on America’s Star Libraries 2018 List.

The Matteson Area Public Library’s Board of Trustees is the governing body of the library. The Board is composed of seven members elected to a staggered six year term by the general public.

The Board is responsible for establishing policies governing the library programs and usage; Overseeing the budget and financial administration; Revising policies when needed to improve or expand services; Formulating and reviewing long range plans for future development and expansion of services when the needs of the library so indicate; and Actively advocating for library support at both the local and state levels.

The Board appoints the Library Director, who is responsible for the administration of the Library. The Library has a departmental structure, with advisory teams established along general library functions. The heads of the departments report to the Director and supervise the staffs and functions of their departments.

All meetings are open to the public.

You may contact the Board of Trustees at

Board Members

Howard Hunigan, President

Email Howard Hunigan

Harold Gillis, Vice-President

Email Harold Gillis

Andrea Williams, Secretary

Email Andrea Williams

Milfred Moore, Treasurer

Email Milfred Moore

Beverly Coleman, Trustee

Email Beverly Coleman

Temitope Babayode, Trustee

Email Temitope Babayode

Jonathan Currin, Trustee

Email Jonathan Curran

Library Board Policy Manual

The board, as the Matteson Area Public Library District, MAPLD, governing body, is entrusted with the authority to establish policy for the governance of MAPLD. Board policy establishes the parameters and guidelines for board members, committees, management, and staff.

View Library Board Policy Manual

View Library Board By-Laws

Annual Schedule of Meetings

Ordinance No. . 4-1964-2021-003 – Board of Trustee Regular Meeting Dates

The annual schedule of meetings is posted each year after the annual meeting.

Be it resolved that Board meetings are normally scheduled on the Tuesday following the second Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the downstairs Meeting Room, on the following dates:

  • August 18, 2020
  • September 15, 2020
  • October 13, 2020
  • November 10, 2020
  • December 15, 2020
  • January 12, 2021
  • February 9, 2021
  • March 9, 2021
  • April 13, 2021
  • May 11, 2021
  • June 15, 2021
  • July 13, 2021

This resolution is effective immediately upon adoption.

Adopted at the Regular Meeting, July 11, 2017.

Posted: July 12, 2017